The Higher Education System in the Russian Federation

There are two levels of higher education:

  1. basic higher education leading to a Bachelor's, Specialist's or Master's degree;
  2. postgraduate higher education ( Ph. D or postdoctoral studies).

University Course duration:

  • Bachelor's degree - 4 years
  • Specialist - 5 years
  • Master's degree (after Bachelor's) - 2 years
  • Postgraduate course - 3 years
  • Postdoctoral studies - 8 years or more

One academic year lasts for 10 months (September 1st - June 30th). The academic year is arranged in two semesters. The first semester: September 1st - January 25th; the second semester: February 9th - June 30th. At the end of each semester, in January and in June, students take their term exams in the subjects they have studied, in accordance with the course curriculum.

Foreign students are admitted to the Preparatory Faculty, where within 7-10 months they study the Russian language which is necessary for adequate communication and for making use of the vast collections of literature on their subject available in library stocks. Aside from Russian, they are also to study Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Geography, Mathematics and other basic subjects that are needed for further studies in the chosen specialty. The preparatory course lasts until the end of June - beginning of July.



Main building:
4443100, Samara
Molodogvardeyskaya street, building №244
8 (846) 278-43-11
Web-site redaction:
443100, Samara
Molodogvardeyskaya street, building №244
academic building №8, office №11
8 (846) 242-33-86